Saturday, 20 July 2013

The Sweetest Dark #2 The Deepest Night

Into the deepest night they fly to rescue.... Presenting The Sweetest Dark #2 The Deepest night by Shana Abe.

Here is the summary of the book:

A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Nightseamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.

It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.

Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love.

With the Sweetest Dark we discovered that there is more to this world than we realize.... right in the corner of the eye (the one place we never look.... ok I need to stop channeling the Doctor there....). Shana Abe introduced this world in her Dakon series..... which sadly I haven't yet..... continuing on to her new series and now to the new book in the series, the deepest night.

They lost Jesse at the end of the end of the last book but the night is still deep and much to be done. Things are changing fast in the dark age, the infernal war has reached London and it seems like Armand's brother is still alive and both Lora and him must brave the skies of their war-torn world to rescue him..... a mission that may serve to bond between them or break them apart from each other.

There is some seriously good character development in this book. Particularly Armand. In book 1, it was Jesse who occupied central position as their teacher, teaching the Drakon ways but this time Armand is given room to evolve. After the disaster in the first book, the lordship has fallen to Armand, the mysterious boy. When at first he seemed a reluctant bystander, a good looking one at that. But now he has been saddled with responsibility and he comes to it with a sound mind. In his own way he had always cared, just never showed. His attraction to Lora grows by the minutes, helped along with the fact that both are connected with their Drakon blood. It is rather endearing to watch both Armand and Lora skirting around their feeling throughout....

While his heart-warming love for Lora may seem wrong to some after Jesse with the instant heart stopping short romp they shared but in the sense while that one had its own merits. I found Lora's chemistry with Armand and this slow bonding even more heart-warming to behold.

I don't have much to say for Lora, she established herself already and this one is about Armand and his coming into his abilities. But Lora plays an important role of the duo throughout, As she mourns for Jesse, she must also master her transformations if they are to succeed ...... Abe beautifully advanced the Drakon world with this book and just with the right material too..

"Definitely a rich and fantastical setting of WWI era blending the right amount of thrilling romance and heart stopping adventures"

Genre :     Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Publisher: Bantam Dell

Release Date: 13th August, 2013

My Copy: publisher and netgalley

Rate:             /5 (Really Liked It)

Books in Series(review links):
         #1 The Sweetest Dark

Buy:         Amazon | Book Depository


  1. Well, you're making me wonder who jesse is
    And what are the Drakons exactly
    I wanna read this sometime
    Adding it to my TBR
    Your reader,



Le' Grande Codex Template by Ipietoon Cute Blog Design